• Intel
  • Microsoft
  • Google
  • Sun Microsystems
  • BT
  • IBM
  • Yahoo! Inc.
  • Zimbra
  • Atlassian Software Systems
  • Disney
  • EnterpriseDB
  • Etelos
  • Ingres
  • JasperSoft
  • Kablink
  • Linagora
  • MindTouch
  • Mozilla Corporation
  • Novell, Inc.
  • Open Invention Network
  • OpSource
  • RightScale
  • Silicon Mechanics
  • Tenth Planet
  • Ticketmaster
  • Voiceroute
  • White Oak Technologies, Inc.
  • XAware
  • ZDNet

Sponsorship Opportunities

For information on exhibition and sponsorship opportunities at the conference, contact Sharon Cordesse at scordesse@oreilly.com.

Media Partner Opportunities

Download the Media & Promotional Partner Brochure (PDF) for more information on trade opportunities with O'Reilly conferences, or contact mediapartners@oreilly.com.

Press and Media

For media-related inquiries, contact Maureen Jennings at maureen@oreilly.com.

OSCON Newsletter

To stay abreast of conference news and to receive email notification when registration opens, please sign up for the OSCON newsletter (login required).

Contact Us

View a complete list of OSCON 2008 Contacts

OpenSolaris & Intel – Greybeards No More

Products & Services
Location: E141 Level: Novice
Average rating: ****.
(4.00, 1 rating)

“Solaris” conjures up notions of grey-bearded UNIX gurus. Intel is helping to make OpenSolaris cool through excellent support for power savings, graphics and wireless. Beardies beware!

Photo of Dave Stewart

Dave Stewart


David Stewart is a software engineering manager at Intel Corporation. David currently manages Team Open Solaris in the Software and Solutions Group. David’s group charter is to ensure that Xeon is the best platform to run Open Solaris. Prior to this role, David held a variety of management positions in Intel’s Desktop Boards and Systems division and Server Products group. Prior to joining Intel in 1997, David held management and engineering positions in consumer software products and server products. David holds a BS in Computer Science and MS in Computer Science from Colorado State University in Fort Collins, which he received in 1983.

OSCON 2008