Making Open Work
May 8–9, 2017: Training & Tutorials
May 10–11, 2017: Conference
Austin, TX

O'Reilly Open Source and Frank Willison Awards

9:55am10:10am Thursday, May 11, 2017
Location: Ballroom D
Average rating: **...
(2.00, 1 rating)

The O’Reilly Open Source Awards recognize individual contributors who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, creativity, and collaboration in the development of open source software. Past recipients have included Brian Aker, Angela Byron, Karl Fogel, Pamela Jones, Bruce Momjian, Rikki Endsley, Chris Messina, Sarah Sharp, David Recordon, VM Brasseur, Andrew Tridgell, and Doug Cutting. The nomination process was open to the entire open source community, and all entries were judged by previous winners. The winners were announced during keynotes on Thursday, May 11, and are:

  • Juan Gonzalez
    R&D Engineer & Member of the CloneWars and FPGAwars communities
  • Nithya Ruff
    Senior Director, Open Source Practice
    Comcast Director, Linux Foundation, Board of Directors
  • Tony Sebro
    General Counsel at the Software Freedom Conservancy
  • Katie McLaughlin
    BeeWare / KatieConf

The Frank Willison Memorial Award for Contributions to the Python Community is given annually to one or two people judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the Python community. The award was established in memory of Frank Willison, a Python enthusiast and O’Reilly editor-in-chief, who died in July 2001. Tim O’Reilly’s “In Memory of Frank Willison” includes a collection of quotes from Frank’s insightful and witty writing, and O’Reilly Media maintains an online archive of Frank Willison’s column, Frankly Speaking. The winners were announced during keynotes on Thursday, May 11, and are: